Forum

[Closed] Official Yeld FAQ!  

  RSS

Jake
 Jake
(@jake)
Ruler of Yeld Admin
Joined: 6 months ago
Posts: 19
14/05/2019 8:05 am  

Hi everyone! This thread is the Official Yeld FAQ. Nick and I will be updating this thread on a regular basis. The thread will be locked, but you ask questions in the rulesĀ  discussion forum, by email or on Facebook and we'll answer them here!

- Jake

Be kind


Jake
 Jake
(@jake)
Ruler of Yeld Admin
Joined: 6 months ago
Posts: 19
22/06/2019 8:55 am  

Fire

Question: A couple of classes mention that they have attacks that "may cause Fire." For example, the red mask says that your attacks may cause Fire if you fail to resist a spell. Shepherd has an ability that says your arrow may cause Fire. How do you check to see if the attack causes Fire? It's pretty hard to find in the book. (Asked by Aaron Silverman)

Answer: You'll find the answer on page 26 of the Yeld rulebook in the "Darkness, fire and water" section. Weapons, Special dice, Spells and other stuff that "may cause fire" when they are used for an attack will set their target on fire automatically. A Monster or Friend that is on fire will roll a die at the beginning of their turn, and on a result of 6 won't be able to use their Action that turn.

So for example, if a shepherd successfully attacks a Fairy with Fire Arrow, in addition to losing a tough die the Fairy will be on fire and will have to roll a die at the beginning of each of its turns to see if it will lose its Action.

I think the reason we decided to use "may cause fire" as the terminology instead of "Causes fire" or "inflicts fire" is that for a long time the target wasn't considered to be on fire unless they rolled the 6 and actually lost their Action. Later we decided that successful Fire attacks would cause the target to be on fire until the end of the fight, even if they never rolled a 6 to lose their Action. So b itself being on fire doesn't really do anything, except force you to make a roll to see if you lose an Action. However, some Special die, Spells or Weapons (like the Witch Hunter's Right to Fire) can be used against enemies on fire, so setting an enemy on fire even if they never lose an Action can still be very useful!

- Jake

Be kind


Share:
  
Working

Please Login or Register